I’m not the best, but I can do it

Positive Affirmations–fantastic or forgery? I never jumped on the positive affirmation bandwagon, mostly because I never really understood what they were. This article does a great job explaining not only what they are but also how to do them better. This is to say that mainstream positive affirmations make people feel worse.

I remember telling myself “I’m a good dancer” but I’m not and it only made me feel worse when someone pointed it out. Now, I tell myself things that are true: I have fun dancing; I like dancing; and I make other people feel more comfortable dancing by being so free. That’s true and even when someone says I’m not a good dancer, all those things I tell myself are still true. I’m not a liar or a fake. I’m just me and I’m just having fun.

Full article here 
Leave a Reply

