Breathing through the wait

In Brene Brown’s TED talk (linked previously), she talks about “breathing through the wait”. I feel like that’s the stage I’m in right now. That vulnerable, uncertain time when the only thing to do is breathe.

I’m not sure if I have anything constructive to say, but maybe it’s enough to say that I’m going through it. This is one of those topics we hide and conceal and pretend like we don’t care. i do care about grad school. I am still waiting for UC Davis to say something, anything. I care about my dad, but all I can do is wait and see. That and make sure I let him know I love him. And listen to music, lots of music.

How do you “breathe through the wait”? Comment to let me know!

1 comment
  1. Reblogged this on amp and commented:
    I think one of my greatest joys lately has been applying metaphors to my life. I went to yoga tonight, and the instructor literally told us to “breathe through the pain.” I’m sure every competent yoga instructor could tell you this, but something about tonight made those words different. Perhaps it’s because of my current “what is my life” situation. Perhaps it’s because I have almost a full 23 years behind me. Who knows.

    We breathe through painful yoga stances. We breathe through painful circumstances. It is the most simple, yet excruciating thing we can do as human beings.

    Who’s to say that simply breathing will make us feel better. The believer in me says it can accomplish just that. My mind doesn’t always allow me to believe that, but for now (and probably the rest of my life), the most I can really do is just breathe.

Leave a Reply

