I had nightmares when I watched TV

image

For a long time, I thought I was the only one. I didn’t even realize the connection until I went to college. Without a tv in the dorms I started sleeping more soundly and my nightmares stopped. My friend had a tv and one night I was talking with her as she watched law and order. I had my first nightmare of college that night. That’s when I realized watching graphic content on tv (Buffy, Angel, bones, CSI, the news, you name it) gave me nightmares. Took me 19 years to figure it out. Reading Brene Brown’s newest book, Daring Greatly, several passages have leapt out at me. They define an experience I’ve had so clearly that I can’t deny it. The passage included here is one such passage. Love the book! One of the few that’s more appealing to me than paying video games.

Leave a Reply

