Article: 13 Life Lessons

As a 20-something, I have a natural interest in advice for my age bracket. (In fact, I see a potential future for this blog and myself in life coaching for 20-somethings in college and after.)  My friend wrote this relevant blog post about 13 Lessons You Need to Learn in Your 20s. Having read multitudes of lists for 20-somethings, I nonetheless loved this Maya Angelou quote from the article:

I’ve learned that making a ‘living’ is not the same thing as ‘making a life’ – Maya Angelou

Overall the 13 lessons are sound, but as with most advice it focuses on the destination without mention much about the road there. Still, I believe awareness is the first step towards meaningful change. If you are searching for something in your 20s, check out the list to see what resonates. And then find a trusted friend–or mentor, teacher, family member–and talk to them about it. (Sometimes I “talk” to my journal when I’m not sure who else to go to.) Learn what you can about yourself and the topic. This is step two: insight. After that, make a plan and commit!

 

Original article: http://www.knowledgeformen.com/the-13-lessons-you-need-to-learn-in-your-20s-to-discover-yourself/

Leave a Reply

