Quote: Grief is the loss of normal

One of the things I miss about Christmas at my grandma's is this small ceramic Christmas tree with built-in lights.

One of the things I miss about Christmas at my grandma’s is this small ceramic Christmas tree with built-in lights.

Listening to Brene Brown discuss gratitude (part of Brene’s e-course) six words struck me: grief is the loss of normal. In wrapping my head around loss and grief, I’ve heard a lot of descriptions. These six words come the closest to defining my experience. Grief is the loss of normal. I miss the phone calls, the text messages, the lunches between class, the pep talks, the laughter, the smiles. I miss the sound of their voices and the way they speak. I miss just being around them. 

To go with this, Brene asks why we miss the normal when it’s gone, but before that we often complain about how dull and un-extraordinary our lives are. We want so badly to be special that we forget to be grateful for the things that bring us joy. 

Leave a Reply

