Article: Healing after Trauma

As someone who has experienced emotional trauma, I believe grief and healing are inextricably tied. I also know that much of the conventional wisdom (“Stay strong!”; “It could be worse.”) struck me at best as well-intended yet empty and at worst as painfully insensitive. For years, I have struggled to explain why and more generally to understand how to heal.

This article resonated with me as honest and humble. For those seeking to understand loss and its aftermath, I’d check out the 10 observations the author makes.

Trauma is often described as emotional, but I believe it ripples out to all aspects of our lives.

Trauma is often described as purely emotional, but I believe it ripples out to all aspects of our lives.

http://sojo.net/blogs/2014/01/13/new-normal-ten-things-ive-learned-about-trauma

Leave a Reply

