Quote: Definition of Optimist

Optimist: Someone who figures that taking a step backward
after taking a step forward is not a disaster, it’s a cha-cha.

-Robert Brault

Blue skies

Something about white clouds and blue skies makes me think of optimism

Before leaving for my last weekend trip, I realized I had 1 pair of (clean) underwear, a dirty bathroom, and a cluttered room. Oh, and no food left in the fridge. You know what, that’s life.

Maybe doing laundry and cleaning house isn’t progress. Maybe some days I have to re-remember what my goals are. Or what’s great about my life. That’s okay. It’s all part of life’s cha-cha.

I find it comforting to think of the back and forth of the world as a dance, rather than being ahead or behind. Stepping back is part of the dance. It’s part of life. It’s normal. It’s valid. And, it’s just as much a part of life as stepping forward.

1 comment
  1. Reblogged this on A|P and commented:
    “Stepping back is part of the dance…And, it’s just as much a part of life as stepping forward.”

Leave a Reply

