Article: 3 things to learn before growing up

Signs of growing up: I eat mac'n'cheese with vegetables

Signs of growing up: I eat mac’n’cheese with vegetables

At UCLA, there was one class I was disappointed not to find: how to be a grown up. No lecture course, no discussion. Not even a P/NP seminar. Somehow all the adults I knew seemed to know how to be adults, so where was my handbook?

I haven’t found one yet, but I’m learning a lot along the way. That includes re-learning things I knew as a child (play is a wonderful thing) and things I learned the hard way (self-criticism is often the harshest and most destructive).

 

 

What did NPR call the “3 Things Everyone Should Know Before Growing Up“? I’ve already mentioned two. Read more for the third:

http://www.npr.org/blogs/13.7/2014/06/30/326935808/three-psychological-findings-i-wish-i-d-known-in-high-school?

Leave a Reply

