Book: Defining Decade

Finally someone gets it. Mag Jay’s Defining Decade (cheapest from B&N) is the book I’ve been looking for since graduating college. It speaks directly to twenty-somethings with how to make the most out of our lives now. Yes! Exactly what I needed right now.

As a preview, Meg Jay understands what it’s like to be this age:

  • I feel like I’m in the middle of the ocean. Like I could swim in any direction but I can’t see land on any side so I don’t know which way to go.
  • I feel like I just have to keep hooking up and see what sticks.
  • I didn’t know I’d be crying in the bathroom at work every day.
  • The twentysomething years are a whole new way of thinking about time. There’s this big chunk of time and a whole bunch of stuff needs to happen somehow.
  • My sister is thirty-five and single. I’m terrified that’s going to happen to me.
  • I can’t wait to be liberated from my twenties.
  • I’d better not still be doing this at thirty.
  • Last night I prayed for just one thing inmy life to be certain.

There are fifty million twentysomethings in the United States, most of whom are living with a staggering, unprecedented amount of uncertainty. Many have no idea what they will be doing, where they will be living, or who they will be with in two or even ten years. They don’t know when they will be happy or when they will be able to pay their bills. They wonder if they should be photographers or lawyers or designers or bankers. They don’t know whether they are a few dates or many years from a meaningful relationship. They worry about whether they will have families and whether their marriages will last. Most simply, they don’t know if their lives will work out and they don’t know what to do. 

Meg Jay gets down to real talk real fast. And then she starts to break down this roadblocks. I’ve still in the early chapters of the book, and I already feel more enlightened and empowered.

More: http://www.drmegjay.com/the-defining-decade/

And, yes, this is the same Meg Jay as one of my favorite TED Talks on the same subject:

Leave a Reply

