Exclusion is not America

(I don’t think I realized the courage my grandparents had in coming to this country until now. My grandfather fought Communism in China, only to face the Chinese Exclusion Act here. My uncles became “paper sons” to get here. My grandmother was told not to come to parent-teacher night because of her accent. My grandparents couldn’t buy a house in most neighborhoods, because they weren’t white. And that was legal.

American tried to #BanThis family, but three generations on I’m still here. And to the new Americans and refugees and DREAMers and greencard-holding permanent residents already affected by recent policy changes, this is your country too.

(Read about the #BanThis campaign)

my-dad

My dad being goofy

https://www.buzzfeed.com/michelleno/this-photo-campaign-shows-the-absurdity-of-the-muslim-ban

Leave a Reply

